Authority of Scripture

Hey dad.  Where did this bench come from?’  ‘I made it.’  ‘How do I know that you made it?’  ‘Because I said so.’  Did the statement, ‘Because I said so’ prove that the father did indeed make the bench?  Absolutely not.  The statement did not demonstrate the fact that it was made by the father.  Nor did it make the statement to be false because it wasn’t proven beyond a shadow of a doubt.  One could surmise that the father had not lied to the son previously, so it should be assumed to be true.  Still, the idea could still be in doubt.

When a person asserts that the Bible is true because it says that it is true, it does not prove that to someone who comes into the debate with the preconceived idea that it is not true.  Even though we could assert that our heavenly father has never lied to us before, the argument could still be made that it does not prove it to be so. 

In our world today, we live amongst a people that want to doubt, deny, and argue every single thing that we hold dear.  No way could a human survive three days in the belly of a great fish.  No way could three men be thrown into a fiery furnace and all of them survive unharmed.  No way could a man be dead for four days and then be called out of the grave.  None of it makes sense and even though the Bible states it, it does not seem to matter to some because human logic tells us otherwise.

When dealing with a new believer, I typically ask them to not just open their minds, but also to open their hearts.  Inviting the Holy Spirit to guide and convict and illumine our minds is very important when we are reading the text.  I like what Paul writes to the Church of Corinth, “For the word of the cross is foolishness to those who are perishing, but it is the power of God to us who are being saved” 1 Corinthians 1:18. (CSB).  The Word of God will ALWAYS be ridiculed and dismissed by the world.  Jesus explained this when He said, “If the world hates you, keep in mind that it hated me first. If you belonged to the world, it would love you as its own. As it is, you do not belong to the world, but I have chosen you out of the world. That is why the world hates you” John 15:18-19.  The question at stake is basically, ‘Who’s approval are you seeking to get?  Gods or the worlds?’  I’ve been studying God’s Word now for more than 40 years.  There are many things that I still do not understand.  Where did Cain’s wife come from?  Did all animals talk in the Garden of Eden?  What happened to Enoch?  I have a pretty good idea and opinion on each of these questions, but the bottom line is that I have faith.  I believe, like David that, “The law of the Lord is perfect” Psalm 19:7 and Jesus when He promises, “The Holy Spirit will teach you all things” John 14:26.  So, I have faith that God is in control and He has shared exactly what I am supposed to know.  One day in eternity He may tell me more, but until then, I am going to trust that He is faithful and true. 

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started